…And One More Liebster

…I have one more Liebster to reply to. Trav S. D. of Travalanche sent a nomination my way recently (very recently, I swear!) so here are my replies, random facts, and nominations!
liebster-award-button-image

1. Where do you stand on colorization?
If we’re colorizing photos, that’s a fun novelty, although I prefer the black and white originals. But if we’re colorizing an old film that’s meant to be black and white, that’s a travesty akin to adding cute rainbow colors to Picasso’s Guernica to make it more “accessible.” NO.  <– imaginary 90-point font
2. What’s your favorite moronic movie, to watch with a bunch of friends while drinking?
Any kind of dumb ’90s-or-later disaster movie–Volcano or The Day After Tomorrow will do.
3. What’s your favorite wound-licking movie, to watch for comfort when you’re alone and feeling morose?
Monkey Business, and anything else with the Marx Brothers. They’re so completely fearless, so fast to mock any kind of authority, that they’re completely cathartic.
4. What’s your favorite cinematic adaptation of Shakespeare?
Might have to be West Side Story!
5. What director or actor would you most like to punch in the nose?
M. Night Shymalan should at least be shaken really, really hard and told to snap out of it. Although the unintentional hilarity of Lady in the Water and The Happening is beautiful.
6. Haha, here’s one to get you in hot water: What nation makes the best movies and why? I’m not looking for jingoism, and indeed could make my own arguments for at least four other nations besides the U.S. (though my first answer would be the U.S….though I don’t trust it).  In fact, let’s tweak this question. Which nation besides the U.S. makes the best movies, and why?
The U.S. is the moviemaking king–sorry, world, but we’re the ones who gave you Star Wars. Outside the U.S. it’s a little tougher…India’s film industry is massive, and if we’re thinking historic importance, then France was essential to the beginning of cinema.
7. What movie makes you really hungry?
Pixar’s Ratatouille, no contest!
8. What movie makes you want to throw up?
Disney’s Maleficent. It’s a big example of the trend of fairytale revisionism in movies, wherein modern cliches and ways of thinking are self-consciously shoehorned into ancient tales. There’s making a fairytale seem relevant, and then there’s…being super self-conscious of trying to make it seem relevant.
9. Who’s your favorite screen comedian?
Joseph Frank Keaton. 😉
10. What movies were so terrible you walked out, or turned them off, or changed the channel?
It was probably the third Transformers movie that made me shake my fist in despair and vow never to set eyes on any of it ever again.
11. Name some favorite directors who aren’t male, white, straight, etc?
The animation master, Hayao Miyazaki, and our early superstar Mary Pickford! (She did hire directors so she could concentrate on acting and supervising her pictures, but she knew how to direct as well.)
.
Here’s my random 11 facts about me:
.
1.  I’ve been inside the Pyramid of Khafre in Giza, Egypt. Inside it was surprisingly warm and humid–some combination of the type of stone, shape of the pyramid and number of tourists that visit, perhaps!
2.  I’ve also been to two of the creepiest places on earth–the Sedlec Ossuary in the Czech Republic and the Paris catacombs.
3.  Frank Norris’s McTeague is one of the best novels I’ve ever read.
4.  I’m not exactly unathletic–my hobbies include long bike rides and long hikes in the woods–but have never been interested in sports.
5.  Art history is one of my favorite things. Romanticism, impressionism, and surrealism are some of the my favorite genres (and there’s something about that Dutch renaissance art, too!).
6.  My top 5 TV shows are: I Love Lucy, Arrested Development, The Office (US version), Malcolm in the Middle and Freaks and Geeks.
7.  I’ve always loved frogs and toads. Spring = The Great Tadpole Search and every summer while growing up I used to catch tree frogs and keep them as pets.
8.  My three favorite cities in Europe are Paris, Galway, Ireland, and Bruges, Belgium.
9.  I’ve been creating crop art to enter in the Minnesota State Fair for a few years now. Crop art is pictures made using seeds. Yes, it can take a very long time to do, so I typically start on a project about 9 months beforehand so I can fiddle with it with time to spare.
10. If I had written Life of Pi I would die happy.
11. My apartment is about 50% antiques.
.
I hearby nominate Second Sight Cinema, Big Riot V Squad, Century Film Project, Doug Fairbanks Jr, and The Scribe Files for the Liebster award! (Take part if you like!) Here are your questions:
.
1. You are given the opportunity to make a movie with any stars you want. Money is no object. What’s it gonna be?
2. You have the choice between two superpowers: learning any language in seconds, or being able to fix any car problem with a wave of your hand. You must choose! 
3. Which three places/countries must you visit before you die?
4. You can go back in time to witness one historic event. Just one. What is it?
5. What is one very obscure or off-the-wall film you would recommend?
6. Which decade of film do you appreciate the most?
7. If someone handed you a million dollars, what is one frivolous thing you would buy?
8. Which book do you wish you had written?
9. What are your three guilty pleasure movies?
10. What is the one tip you would give to a beginning blogger?
11. Okay, Keaton or Chaplin?
.
Have fun!
.
18 thoughts on “…And One More Liebster

  1. So, I always do mine as a comment:
    1. You are given the opportunity to make a movie with any stars you want. Money is no object. What’s it gonna be?
    I’m assuming that time travel is no object, either. Let’s make a giant feature-length Keystone Cops movie by forcing the Monty Python writers to combine the scripts of all of the “Police Academy” movies into something completely surreal and nonsensical, starring Chaplin, Keaton, Lloyd, Mabel Normand, Bebe Daniels, Edna Purviance, Roscoe Arbuckle, Al St. John, Ben Turpin, and Ford Sterling.
    2. You have the choice between two superpowers: learning any language in seconds, or being able to fix any car problem with a wave of your hand. You must choose!
    I’ll take the language one. I really have no interest in cars, but it would be cool to be able to travel and read more broadly.
    3. Which three places/countries must you visit before you die?
    Uh oh, an imperative! Where *must* I visit? I’d like to see New Zealand, Scandinavia, and Tokyo, but do I have to? I guess I feel I must get back to Crater Lake, Malheur, and the Umpqua River at least once before I die.
    4. You can go back in time to witness one historic event. Just one. What is it?
    I’ll hang out with Oswald in the book depository. I just want to be *sure*.
    5. What is one very obscure or off-the-wall film you would recommend?
    It would depend on who I’m recommending it to. For you: “Wild Guitar,” starring Arch Hall, Jr.
    6. Which decade of film do you appreciate the most?
    Oo, another linguistic twist: not which is best or which do I like the most, but which do I appreciate? I guess the 1890s.
    7. If someone handed you a million dollars, what is one frivolous thing you would buy?
    I’m not that frivolous. The first thing that comes to mind is paying off my student loans. After that, maybe I’d buy another VHS machine, in case the one I’m using now and all of my backups break down.
    8. Which book do you wish you had written?
    I wish I’d written the book based on my dissertation. That would have required me to write my dissertation, however.
    9. What are your three guilty pleasure movies?
    OK, confession time: “Starship Troopers,” “Judge Dredd” and the Sony version of “Godzilla.” That’s as guilty as I’m willing to admit to.
    10. What is the one tip you would give to a beginning blogger?
    Keep writing.
    11. Okay, Keaton or Chaplin?
    I’ve watched way more Chaplin, but I honestly don’t think I have a preference.

  2. I didn’t know you were a Miyazaki fan too! He’s the only filmmaker I love as much as Buster Keaton. i actually did my thesis project on Miyazaki as an undergrad. What are your top three favorite films of his?

    • So far (since I haven’t watched his latest films) it’s My Neighbor Totoro, Spirited Away and Howl’s Moving Castle. Howl’s seems to get a bit of a bum rap, but I really enjoyed it!

      • Howl’s is great! I love the romance and the anti-war themes in it. Plus Howl himself is a scream (“What’s the point of living if I can’t be beautiful?!!!”)

        My top three are The Castle of Cagliostro, Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind, and Porco Rosso. Have you ever watched any of Miyazaki’s TV work from the 1970s, like Future Boy Conan? It’s so cool, like a test run for his later work in some ways while also feeling almost like an old-school adventure serial.

Leave a Reply

