Mary Pickford month 2

I’m happy to announce that March is hereby dedicated to Mary Pickford here on Silent-logy! The spunky, 5’1″ “Girl with the Curls” was not only a singularly gifted actress, but was a force to be reckoned with, an artist whose vision as well as astonishing business sense helped shape the course of film history. She was once the most famous woman in Hollywood, and therefore one of the most famous women in the world. And to the picture-going public she was “Our Mary.”

I’ll be covering her life, some of her most interesting films, and other tidbits. Please stop by often for this extended celebration of the incomparable “America’s Sweetheart”!

9 thoughts on “

  1. Good for you! I haven’t had as much time to cover Pickford as I’d like to, but she’s always there in any study of early film. I look forward to seeing what you’ve got for us.

  2. I look forward to your posts on Mary Pickford. Although she is not my favourite of silent stars, her influence is undeniable. (And I’m curious as to the success of so many very short actresses–wasn’t Gloria Swanson just barely 5 feet in height?)

    • Welcome, I’m happy you’ll be stopping by! Oh yes, Gloria was something like 4’11”, Mabel Normand was about 5 feet tall…then there’s all the little guys like Charlie Chaplin. Good things in small packages. 😀

      • I already learned something! I had no idea that Gloria was SMALLER than Mary! I always figured she was tall!

        Missed the whole month of posts, am catching up now, Mary is my absolute favorite figure of the whole era (and that’s saying alot because I love so many!), I am so excited to read all the posts. It’s good because now I can read them all at once!

        Already learned something, Lea, thank you! Haven’t been on here five minutes, and I learned that Mary, while small, was taller than Mabel AND Swanson! And I’ve read everything I could about her, including combing old movie mags!

Leave a Reply

