return-of-silent-horror-month-2

This October, it’s back!!! That is, Silent-ology’s focus on all things spooky, creepy, gothic, and vampy. I frickin’ love Halloween–if you can’t tell–and this year I can hardly decide which scary film to cover first.

Image result for silent horror films

You wish.

My Halloween-inspired posts from previous years have included the films:

The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari, of course;
The Phantom of the Opera, because it’s not Halloween without Lon Chaney;
From Morn to Midnight (Von morgens bis mitternachts), the most jawdropping German Expressionist oddity you’ve never heard of;
Frankenstein (1910), the world’s first version of Shelley’s tale;
Faust (1926), a film that constantly fills me with awe;
Nosferatu: Phantom der Nacht (1979)–one of my favorite films, period;
and Au Secours (1924), a bizarre collaboration between Abel Gance and Max Linder.

I also wrote articles on the following:

So What Exactly Was German Expressionism?,
Silent Boris and Silent Bela: The Early Careers of Two Horror Icons,
Why Tim Burton Should Thank Pola Negri

…and who could forget,

5 Silent Films That Would’ve Terrified Me As a Child.

Make sure to check in throughout October for some doses of silent Hallowe’en. I’ve been looking forward to it!!

Image result for silent horror films

Like this…only not in a horrifying life-scarring way.

13 thoughts on “

  1. I’m also very fond of Halloween. It’s also a big time for my blog: I’ve been working on a “comprehensive” history of horror movies each year as the season comes round. I’ve noticed that just tagging a post with “horror” is enough to get my number of views to go up, and when they discover I’m writing about it all month, they’re hooked…at least until I start talking about Christmas movies again.

    • Ooo! I’ll be looking through your horror reviews for sure, especially with my first Halloween time post coming up. I’ll state (again) how immensely helpful it is that your site covers such a huge, thorough selection of early silents!

      • Very kind of you to say so! I’ve been very generous with my definition of “horror” since the genre was pretty undefined in the early days, but I think a lot of the basics were established in the early “trick film.”

  2. I usually watch Caligari sometime round Halloween as a yearly tradition. I certainly need to check out From Morn to Midnight. I also need to watch some of the Lon Chaney films I’ve not seen—I see TCM is featuring several of them this month.

  3. I also love Halloween! One of the reasons I’ll never be 100% Orthodox is because I refuse to give up Halloween. If I ever have another relationship, and it leads to marriage, I want a Halloween wedding and a black wedding dress, with a reception like a haunted house or haunted haywagon ride instead of some boring sit-down dinner and formal dancing.

    This is the second year I’ve spotlighted vintage horror movies on my blog during October. I’ve begun covering films with landmarks anniversaries in the year I blog about them (for the most part, anyway), so this year I’m covering films from 1926, 1916, 1911, 1896, 1921, and 1931. Since I’ll be doing twelve films this year, I might spill over into the first week of November. That’s fine by me, since I never change my Monster template back to something “normal” right after Halloween. The holiday-themed template will still be there for all the horror film posts.

    • Sound like a great plan, fellow Halloween enthusiast! I bet I can guess which films you’re covering–especially from 1896! 😉

      Yeah, I only have about half of my Halloween decorations up and it’s Oct. 4th already–I’M FREAKING OUT. 😀

  4. Pingback: What Are The World’s Oldest Horror Movies? | Silent-ology

  5. Pingback: Thoughts On: “The Cat And The Canary” (1927) | Silent-ology

  6. Pingback: Obscure Films: “Behind The Door” (1919) | Silent-ology

  7. Pingback: John Barrymore’s Amazing Transformation in “Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde” | Silent-ology

  8. Pingback: Thoughts On: “Nosferatu” | Silent-ology

Leave a comment